Getting Ready

Status

Betty is still under repair, but hopefully this week. Parts have been going back into her and she looks a lot better.  I look forward to having a functional sewing machine, however. 😛

I picked up a couple of interesting books at Goodwill the other day:

How to Design Your Own Clothes and Make Your Own Patterns by Claudia Ein seems it’ll be an awesome reference.  It’s a bit older but it seems to me it’s filled with solid principles.  The other text is Sew Smart with Wovens, Knits, and Ultrasuede Fabric by Judy Lawrence and Clotilde.  The illustrated techniques within teach broader skills (like French seams) and I think it will come in handy.

I’m anxious to get sewing again, but at the same time, I’m a bit worried I’m going to be terrible at it.  It’s been a very long time.  So I’m breathing deep and letting myself start over.  While I wait for my machine I’m reading and gathering resources (fabrics, threads, etc.).

Leave a Reply

