Rehabbing Betty

Standard
Betty doesn't feel well....

Betty doesn't feel well....

Well, she was “Betsy,” but my eldest has a clarinet already named Betsy and has informed me that it’s weird to have more than one inanimate object with the same name, so “Betty” it is. 😉  Sorry about the blurry shot, still getting the hang of my new DSLR.

This is a Singer Stylist 466k made in 1969.  It belonged to my paternal grandmother and is one of the only things I have that was hers.  I’ve wanted to get the machine up and running for a long time, and I’m finally getting to do it!  I had no idea when I started how much I’d learn and how many parts I’d need. D:

Dead gear.

Mostly it was a matter of not taking all the accessories with me when I left my grandparents house.  Still, this is a 40 plus year old machine that sat for quite a while, so a deep lube and service was in order.  I also found a bit of damage like what you see (or almost see) in the above photo – the black gear in the center of the photograph sat still so long that it crumbled into the white gear’s teeth upon startup.  Needless to say, I’ve parts on the way.

This has been weirdly anxious for me.  It’s hard to wait so long and then be delayed by damage.  I really look forward to sewing on my grandmother’s machine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

