A Little Yarn Expedition

Standard

I had to go into town, so while I was there I hit up Tuesday Morning and Wally-World looking for budget-friendly yarn.  I’m still a newbie, so I wasn’t looking for anything fine, just workable and practical yarn for a beginner.

Tuesday Morning was mostly a bust, ‘though there were two small packets of  Bernat Organic Cotton.   I didn’t think it was a good enough deal at the time (three balls for $4.99) so I didn’t get it.  In retrospect, looking at the Herrschner’s Yarn Sale, I guess it was a decent deal.  Ah well.  The Lion Brand Homespun *definitely* wasn’t at a good enough price.  Actually, I wasn’t hugely impressed by the whole store – the prices weren’t what I’d call…a bargain.

I  dropped by Wal-Mart’s craft section while I was out – I got 2 skeins of Caron’s Simply Soft Eco in White and one in Natural, as well as two Red-Heart Super-Savers, one in Dark Sage, and one in Claret – all for a dollar a piece.  The latter two I view as practice yarn more than anything else – a bit scratchy, but good for practice scarves, hats, etc.  The Caron yarn I love – I had already bought a skein of Ocean on sale ($2) for my middle son – he wanted a “lovey” blanket to cuddle under, which I did make – I didn’t think to photograph it, though – guess I should.  Their Simply Soft Eco line is really soft, though a bit friable – hard to keep from separating strands, sometimes.  The fun thing is – it’s partially made of recycled plastic bottles.

Leave a comment