Hooks and Aches

Standard

I’ve been really struggling to get a real project done, crochet-wise.  If I sit and crochet for a long period of time, my hands begin to ache through the base of my thumb, in towards my palm, and then also across the outside edge of my wrist down through my upper arms.

I haven’t been able to figure out what’s going on here.  I don’t get swelling or numbness – just a very strong feeling of hyper-fatigued muscles so tired they want to cramp.  To me this doesn’t sound like arthritis or carpal tunnel.  So I’ve been trying to track down what it could be….

I’ve been typing for more than twenty years, but beyond a little bit of tiring after a while, I seldom have an issue with it.  I have always tried to take care with my typing technique in an effort to avoid getting a repetitive stress injury like carpal tunnel.  On the other hand, I do have a very hard time writing by hand for very long – I get the response I get when I crochet.

Anyway, I have a lot of ideas, but no specific thoughts on how to proceed.  Any feedback, y’all?

Leave a Reply

