Vegan Southern Comfort Food

Standard

I had the most fabulously trashy meal last night – nothing reasonably healthy about it other than the fact it was free of cholesterol.  Meet my dinner:

White bread, BBQ Gluten Ribs and A Glass of Tropical Punch

White bread, BBQ Gluten Ribs and A Glass of Tropical Punch

One project I’m hoping to get pulled together is a ‘zine of trashy, not-so-healthy vegan grub.  I’m working on these ribs right now – there is a rib recipe in the The New Farm Vegetarian Cookbook that I used as my starting inspiration, as I’ve not got a lot of experience working with wheat gluten and seitan.  However, these ribs are rapidly becoming my own, as I made a lot of changes to the recipe before I even tried it, and plan a whole bunch more the next time I make these.

One thing I really wish someone had told me these do:

Ribs Well on Their Way to glory....

Ribs Well on Their Way to glory....

I had no idea these things would puff up like this – pretty crazy looking, though I didn’t think to take a picture until after they were past their shiny smooth balloon-like phase….

Leave a Reply

